top of page
  • Writer's pictureBecca Blum

Project #4 Artist Statement

Updated: May 10, 2023

Project link: https://rebl2759.wixsite.com/da1-rebecca-blum/1

I had a huge amount of fun doing this project, and it was really cool seeing it come together just as I had envisioned. The premise of the Webventure is you (the viewer) are on a trip to see the space whales at their most famous viewpoint - kind of like going to see the Grand Canyon, or another natural wonder that money is made off of. However, there aren’t any whales in sight. The viewer has the choice to go home, and see on the news a few weeks later that the whales have gone extinct due to hunting… or they can investigate why this is happening. Should they get to the whales, and lead them to a safe part of the galaxy, the viewer will get home and see on the news that the whales are not extinct.

The art style I was going for turned out really well on most of the GIFs and images, which I am very happy about. I had been reading online about drawing pixels over an image, and this came into use when I was drawing the old alien. The whales are my own art, though inspired by the star whale from Doctor Who.

Something I could have done to improve my Webventure was to add more places to trip people. One I did add was to try to trick people into not stopping for gas. It almost worked in the critique! Another thing was, I tried to deter the viewer by saying they would be “using up their lifesavings to buy a spaceship”….. but it makes sense that people wouldn’t fall for that because they know they are’t actually losing anything ha!

I wish I had added (if I had more time on my hands) an encounter with the poachers who hunt the whales. There could have been some sort of space-tavern duel where you try to trick the poachers into going the wrong direction. Like maybe have a mini game where you try to beat the poachers after having convinced them to wager their spaceship.

Overall, I had a mighty fine time doing this project!


^ GIF with image of face hand traced by me to turn it into pixels


^ GIF of original art by me! This one might actually be my favorite one.



^ Photoshop + a GIF

^ Photoshop + my original art + an image of stars


^ This was my favorite GIF to make. I never thought I‘d be making a fake ad for a futuristic uh… “robot companion”…. but here I am ha! All the art is original besides the burger.

^ This is the one photoshop image that didn’t turn out how I wanted it to look. I think it’s the border and the way the gas monitor doesn’t look very pixelated (even though I did reduce its quality).

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page